Music and cookies

This song came to mind during our discussion Saturday night. There isn’t an official video, so the link is to a still photo of trees while the song plays(!):

We’ve probably all heard the sentiment before, but I don’t mind hearing it again in this song. Looking for it has reminded me how much I love Poi Dog Pondering; their first two albums especially are so full of life and wonder and beauty and accordions and fiddles! If you don’t check them out immediately, I may have to make you all mix tapes for Mother’s Day!

And here is the recipe for the banana/oat cookies. They really are stupidly simple to make but (I think) pretty darn tasty.

2 overripe bananas (if you don’t have 2 going at the same time, you can freeze them for later use)
1 cup oats (I put mine through the food processor for a smaller “grain”)

Mix the ingredients together, then bake on a well-greased or lined baking tray for 12-15 minutes at about 175C. They don’t spread out, so I sort of rounded them off. In my experience, they stick really badly, even with baking parchment, so greasing might be better.

I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and some milk/dark chocolate chunks. I haven’t tried yet, but have read that you can also add: cinnamon, raisins, dried fruit, walnuts, brown sugar, sea salt, coconut flakes or pecans. You can also make them with pureed pumpkin or peaches instead of banana, or add a dollop of Nutella or peanut butter.

I hope you find the song and the cookies nourishing!

Laura x

Leave a comment